Claire P

Many thanks Claire for all your help with Abbie. She would not have done so well without you.

11+ Entrance Exam Tuition

  • 11+

  • English Language

  • English Literature

  • History

  • Maths

Academic History

2014-2016 – L’École Internationale de Théâtre Jacques Lecoq – Completed a 2 year course in acting/creating new pieces of theatre.

2010-2013 Balliol College, University of Oxford, BA in History 2:1

2008-2010 Peter Symonds College, A levels: History A*, English A*, Music A, Critical Thinking A, General Studies, A Maths AS level A

2003-2008 Thornden School, GCSEs: A*s in English literature, English language, Maths, Statistics, Physics, Biology, Chemistry, History, German, Music, Drama, Textiles, Business Communications Systems

About Me

My specialist subjects are History and English and I also provide Maths and English support for key stages 1-2, including preparation for the 11+. I am an enthusiastic and engaging tutor who works hard to make each session fun and memorable as well as academically rigorous. I aim to inspire in each student a love for the subject they are studying, instilling a sense of excitement to learn more.

Recent Tuition

Please see a snapshot of my recent tuition below.

12+ pre tests

I am supporting a 12 year old student for his 12+ pre-tests to competitive schools in south london. The student had quite a few gaps in his English and Maths and we have worked efficiently using a rating system to ensure he is comfortable on all key areas that are likely to be tested in the exam. He has become a much more confident and communicative student during our time together and feels comfortable with a much wider range of maths topics and has a new level of understanding for analysis and creative writing in English. His parents are very pleased with the progress the student has made so we will be continuing tutoring following the exams to keep up the good momentum in his English and Maths progress.

Year 6 English (EFL, speaking, elocution, grammar and vocabulary) and Maths support

I offer continuing support for a young girl (now 13, we started when she was 10) from Iran following her arrival in London. Our sessions focus on honing her English and Maths, as well as extra homework support, with particular attention paid to extending her English language and speaking skills. To enhance these skills we tied some drama into our lessons together, often reading aloud and acting out stories to help her develop a more enriched vocabulary and perfect her elocution, pronunciation and expression skills. During our time together this student has made great improvements, and her reading levels went up by 2 years following our lessons in the first year. Her Maths score has also increased significantly and she now has a firm grasp of many of the basic mathematical concepts she was lacking at the beginning with her teacher confident that she can get a B by the end of this year. We are now focusing on exam technique and how to apply her increasingly solid academic skills with accuracy and flair in a pressured situation.

11+ Independent schools in Hammersmith

I supported a student preparing for 11+ English, Maths and Reasoning with an aim of approaching independent schools in Hammersmith. We worked methodically with practice papers so that she was familiar with the ISEB format and expectations as well as adding a level of creativity and fun to our English sessions which encouraged her to be adventurous with her vocabulary and approach to creative writing. A supportive and nurturing environment was created to ensure that I built confidence in her – confidence building was a particularly key aspect of these sessions in order to allow her to perform to the best of her potential.

11+ and Elocution

I supported a student who learnt English as a second language and needed extra support in this subject for both his elocution and his preparation for competitive 11+ exams. At the point of tutoring he had not yet decided his target schools. Our sessions focused on improving his grammar, spelling and comprehension in a fun and engaging way. We worked on building up his stamina and accuracy when writing as well as a more varied bank of vocabulary.

Year 3 English and Maths support

I supported a year 3 student to increase her confidence and ability in English and Maths. Our sessions were creative and fun, eg doing times table olympics for Maths and creating stories with the new vocabulary she learned for English; she displayed increasingly great enjoyment and motivation in both subjects.

Year 5 English and Maths support

I worked for two years with this student on an ad hoc basis and during the school holidays to keep her on track with her English and Maths skills. English is a weaker area for her, so I encouraged her to feel more confident in expressing herself both verbally and through her writing. Together we put together stories and used interesting vocabulary lists, tying new words into her work. I find that involving an aspect of drama really helps to ensure that students feel comfortable in applying expression and meaning to their work, and in particular when speaking and reading stories aloud. With Maths we took the time to go back and improve her grasp of key concepts from number and place value to percentages, decimals and fractions, which she lacked a firm understanding of due to moving from different education systems abroad. She started to build much better habits, eg showing her workings, and is increasingly confident in a way that she can apply her knowledge to more advanced problems. Her aim was to take the 11+ for Thomas’ in Battersea.

University sociology student Essay technique

I offered support over two years to a Sociology student focusing on how to approach researching, writing and structuring her essays. I also worked on nurturing in her a wider confidence in how to approach her academic work. She has gone on to produce a much higher quality of work, achieving firsts and 2:1s in her coursework and was delighted to achieve a very high 2:1 at the end of her degree.

Year 5 homework support and 11+ preparation

I have tutored general year 5 homework support and have built up an excellent rapport with the students (twins with different strengths and weaknesses) in a way that allows me to tailor the sessions to their many varying needs. Their parents are keen that the girls are encouraged to really enjoy their academic studies and not become stressed with the amount of work they have to cover. Accordingly, I kept our sessions fun and fast-paced, where I challenged them to think outside of the box when appropriate, instilling in them a confidence that they can produce interesting work that goes beyond expectations. This role also had a long term goal of preparing the girls for 11+.

Year 5 SEN (ADHD, Dyslexia, Dyspraxia)

I tutored English to a student in year 5 who finds reading, writing and general concentration a big challenge. Her parents were eager that I encourage her to develop her English skills as well as her general confidence in this area of work. My patience and ability to communicate was key in tailoring sessions that allowed her to engage with the subject matter and progress at a rate that challenged her, yet was not too overwhelming.

English as a foreign Language

During my time living in Paris 2014-2016 I taught English as a foreign language to both young students and a mature student in preparation for both formal exams and conversational fluency. One of the younger students now feels prepared to explore the possibility of spending a longer exchange period in an English school this coming year. The mature student successfully passed the English modules of her professional training and was subsequently able to apply for more ambitious positions in her career. We created a great working relationship as well as a friendship during our sessions, resulting in a continuing friendship once our sessions were over.

Other teaching experience

As a TA in primary schools and early learning centres I have assisted the classroom teacher with teaching the curriculum to classes with a range of abilities. This has required an ability to teach a range of subjects and be able to communicate the subject matter in a range of ways according to the ability of each child. One of these settings was specifically for young SEN students (aged 3-5) where I was required to assist in the teaching and care of both verbal and non verbal students, challenging them to develop their motor and interaction skills whilst providing a safe environment that nurtured their development and confidence.

Family Educator with Paris Muse

Using a work booklet, I led private educational History and Art History tours around the Louvre and the Marais in Paris for families with children aged 4 – 16. Due to my interactive and performative approach to communicating the advanced subject matter to children of a range of ages I was able to engage them properly in the complex material covered, resulting in an impressive comprehension of the subjects by the end of the tour and an eagerness to learn more (from both the children and the adults!).

Teacher, Sing and Play

I taught English as a foreign language using a range of techniques, including singing, interactive play and drama sessions. Classes ranged from groups of 3 – 18 children; ages ranged from 3 – 12 depending on the level of the class. By the end of the year progress was clear throughout my range of classes, from the students’ understanding of more complex instructions to their ability to communicate with me much more confidently in English. By the end of the year I was able to teach entirely in English without resorting to any explanations in French.

Hobbies and Interests

Alongside tutoring I am passionate about the arts, and have spent my life heavily involved in many aspects of drama, music and dance. I am currently in the process of creating new pieces of physical theatre following my theatrical training in Paris and am also a member of the London Bach Choir. I love spending time engaging in the history, art and culture of a place; in Paris I had the opportunity to spend my days in the Louvre and the Marais as a family educator, communicating the many exciting stories of Paris’ art and history to families with younger children. I also love to be outdoors both walking and cycling.

Client Testimonials

– She loved the first class and she was disappointed when I told her it wasn’t music again today!

– Many thanks Claire for all your help with Abbie. She would not have done so well without you.

– We’ve really enjoyed your working with Rose & seeing how she’s become confident & really interested in education.  You’ve been brilliant.

– Claire has been a very professional and involved English teacher as I was training my English knowledge for competitive exams in 2014 in Paris. Once or twice a week we had a two-hour session together, based on the understanding and analysis of newspaper articles, mostly from The Economist. Claire was very patient to correct and improve my pronunciation. She did not only have me train my English knowledge but also helped me to reflect on the issues tackled by the articles. Her rigourous analysis of the articles helped me to have a more critical opinion of the texts. The chosen topics were various – political, economic, environmental, historical, etc. Claire always had the right method to help my understanding of the theme and to initiate interesting discussions about it.

  • Home schooling Experience

  • SEN Experience

Would you like to work with Claire P?

Email us today and we'll be happy to discuss your requirements.

Contact Us