Make an Enquiry


"Zora is a very devoted and conscientious tutor who prepares well and tries to get her tutee's attention with various methods. She is very polite and discrete."

Mrs S, 13+ Residential Tuition

  • 11+

  • 13 +

  • A Level

  • Biology

  • Chemistry

  • English

  • GCSE

  • Maths

  • Physics

  • Senior School Entrance

Academic History

My most recent degree is my Masters in Biomedicine, Bioscience and Society, completed at the London School of Economics in 2011. This programme focused on Sociology, Philosophy and Social Policy of Science, and was intended to be complementary to my undergraduate degree in Human Genetics (UCL, 2010). These two degrees allowed me to round out my education, through working across multiple disciplines and building an understanding of science, society, and the relationship between them. Prior to my university study, I completed A-levels in Biology, Chemistry, Maths and German at a North London secondary school and since then, have continued language study as minor subject alongside my other programmes.

2010 – 2011 MSc in Biomedicine, Bioscience and Society at London School of Economics with Merit

  • Recipient of an Alf Waddington Scholarship
  • Dissertation topic: Reform of the Welfare State and Public Policy

2007 – 2010 BSc (Hons) 1st class in Human Genetics at University College London

  • Recipient of a Harold and Olga Fox Scholarship
  • Nominated for Dean’s List
  • Includes 4th-level German, a continuation of A-level studies
  • Includes Maths and Statistics-based modules

2000 – 2007 Ashmole School

  • GCE A level Grades AAAB in Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry and German respectively
  • GCSE Grades 5xA, 5xA*

About Me

I am a qualified teacher, specialising in secondary Maths and the Sciences. I teach these subjects to GCSE and A-level, but also have tuition experience with KS3 and KS2 students. At KS2 and KS3 I can also teach English. My primary strength is in producing interactive lessons, using tools from poly dice, to multi-timers, to kitchen scales, building sessions that are both entertaining and educational. I promote an environment in which pupils feel free to question and to contribute to guiding the lessons, solidifying foundations and encouraging extension work.

Recent Tuition

I have been tutoring private students since the completion of my Masters and have taught for over 100 hours in this academic year alone. This includes ongoing support, exam preparation and short-term catch-up work for pupils transitioning from across school systems. Below, I describe a selection of the clients who I have worked with previously, and who I work with currently.


Short-term Biology tuition for high achiever A, 17, who is at boarding school. A’s primary concern was having missed some sections of the curriculum, so targeting these was the main objective of his sessions. His school prepares for the less-common WJEC exam board, so specific knowledge of this syllabus was a must.

Ongoing as-needed Chemistry support for an adult learner looking to retrain and attend university. The student has had interrupted formal schooling, and so also required assistance with the relevant areas of maths. The exam board is OCR.


Weekly tuition for O and M, both 14, who attend day schools in North London. Both girls excel in English and Humanities, but find Maths challenging. M, in particular, struggles with concentration, so her sessions are tailored to promote a continued focus. O is already starting to show much improved grades, with the percentage on her most recent test shooting up to 65% (from 17% before tuition began). O and M are studying for the syllabi of Edexcel and AQA exam boards respectively.

Ongoing preparation for upcoming exam with J, 16, who is aiming to improve his grades from a predicted C/D to an overall solid B. J has weekly tuition, with daily revision during school holidays. His exam board is OCR.

Intensive preparation for Edexcel Biology IGCSE with I, 16. She has two-hour sessions every fortnight, to both improve her knowledge of the subject and improve her exam technique. I is aiming for an A* grade, with the exam period due to begin in May.

Weekly classes in Biology, Chemistry and Physics with S, 15, who has just moved up a set from Double Sciences to Triple. S is a visual learner, and tuition must involve diagrams, photos and videos, to help him connect what he is learning to the everyday world.

Common Entrance:

Academic Year 13/14

– 11+ Maths

A (Year 5) – ongoing preparation for Belmont School, 11+ Maths. A has covered a range of topics, from probability to shape and space. I also extended this to include logic and reasoning, in order to increase the breadth of his mathematical understanding. A is now in Year 6, and will be sitting the exams in January. A and I are currently focusing on word questions, relating this to both the 11+ and to his current school scheme of work.

Outcome: A is preparing for banding tests for local schools at the moment, which will take place in the next week. We will return to exam preparation after Christmas as revision for Belmont.

– 13+ Maths

J (Year 7) – short-term preparation for 13+ Maths for entry to Mill Hill School. This tuition focused solely on Maths and primarily involved the completion of past papers. J and I covered tests which had previously been set by a range of schools, as well as the sample available on the Mill Hill website.

Outcome: J transferred to an international school abroad which uses the IB syllabus, and will therefore no longer be sitting for Mill Hill.

Academic Year 2012/2013:

– Intensive holiday tuition, preparing two boys for 11+ and 13+ exams respectively in Maths and English.

Outcome: Both students eventually gained places at Aldenham school.


Ongoing Maths tuition with J, 13. J suffers from low self-esteem and has a great fear of making mistakes, which means she can easily fail to work to her full potential. Sessions are light-hearted and humorous, so that she is at her most comfortable when confronting new topics. J is a relatively new client, but is already starting to report improved test results.

Repeated short-term tuition for G, 12, who travels with his parents when they come to the UK on business, and who is preparing for entry to a British school.



Intermittent tuition for Z, 8, who is keen to learn non-curricular Maths. His sessions are focused around strengthening his foundations, and emphasise toys, games and enjoyment of the subject.


Bi-weekly Maths and Sciences sessions with S, 7, an extremely able student looking for extension work outside of a school environment.


L, 9, has mild behavioural difficulties, and problems with concentration. Her Maths sessions are interactive, involving a series of short activities, each of which uses different aids (poly-sided dice, chess timers, measuring jugs and the like).

Homeschooling and SEN:EBD

K, 16, has been excluded from both mainstream education and a Pupil Referral Unit and he and his sister, A, are currently homeschooled. They have joint bi-weekly sessions in Maths, Biology, Chemistry and Physics, to prepare them for sitting iGCSEs during the January exam period.

Residential tuition:

Short-term tuition with M, 14, revising for her first Science GCSE modules. Four hours per day, split into hour-long sessions, and covering Biology, Chemistry and Physics topics from the AQA syllabus. Full exam preparation, including specific topic trouble-shooting, exam technique and past paper practice.

Other teaching-related work:

Summer Camp Volunteer

Last summer (June-July), I took part in a European Volunteer Service (EVS) programme, which sends young people to volunteer abroad, and I was assigned as a community centre support aide for a village in the Middle East. As a volunteer at their children’s summer camp, I taught two main groups,ages 4-7 and 14+. With the 4-to-7s, my classes were English language, drama, sport and art. For the youngest children, their learning aims were quite simple (e.g. when there is a cat drawn on the board, they shout it out first in Arabic and then in English, or jump up if the word in English starts with the same sound as their name). Art could be anything from drawing their local mosque to using coloured paper to make butterfly chains, and for drama, they did single-scene plays written by the older groups.


I worked for Camden as a chaperone from 2007-2012. This sole-charge work involved escorting groups of children between their homes and their music centre via school bus, co-ordinating their respective schedules, liaising with parents, teachers and pupils and keeping attendance records. The children were primarily aged between 4 and 12 (although older pupils were also welcome), and groups tended to be around 20+ in size.

Au Pair

I spent two months as an au pair for a South African family, who have a daughter (then aged almost 2) and a son (8). My duties were mainly of the mother’s-help variety – childcare and housework. Both of the children are extremely bright, and required a great deal of attention to keep them stimulated (games such as Scrabble for the elder, singing and storytelling with the younger). I later returned to this family on a casual basis during my post-Masters gap year. Most of my time on this occasion was spent with the daughter, Farah (then aged just 3). As with my other work, I did a lot of artsy-type activities with her, as well as reading with her, writing (colouring in, learning alphabet) and basic numeracy (counting).

Nursery Nurse

As part of a language programme in 2006, I worked at a German kindergarten in the town of Saarbrucken throughout the holidays. During this time, my primary role was to work with children aged 3-4, supporting them in various activities involving learning through play and pre-school preparation. Arts and crafts featured heavily here, as well as early-years literacy and numeracy.

Hobbies and Interests

In my spare time, I figure skate, bake cookies and cakes, and read from an eclectic collection on my Kindle, which ranges from Jane Austen, to Margaret Atwood, to James Patterson. I also love to travel, whether it be to volunteer on charity projects or to participate in adrenaline sports. Thus far I’ve been skydiving, blackwater rafting, canyon-swinging and Tarzan-jumping, and my next target is bungee-jumping – watch this space!

Client Testimonials

“Zora is a very devoted and conscientious tutor who prepares well and tries to get her tutoree’s attention with various methods. She is very polite and discrete.” Mrs. S., Residential 13+ Tuition in France.

  • Qualified Teacher