Make an Enquiry

Shuang

"Shuang has been tutoring my son on his KS 3/4 Maths. She manages to keep my son engaged in the activity that they are completing which in my son's case is no small feat."

Maths Tuition

  • A Level

  • Biology

  • Chemistry

  • Drama

  • English

  • GCSE

  • Mandarin Chinese

  • Maths

  • Physics

  • Senior School Entrance

Academic History

PGDip/MA in Professional Acting – Academy of Live and Recorded Arts

PGDiP in Bar Vocational Course, Very Competent – College of Law

LLB Law, 2:1 – Queen Mary, University of London

A Levels: Mathematics (A), Biology (B), Business Studies (B)

10 GCSEs: A* – B, Mathematics (A), Double Science (A)

About Me

My specialist subjects are Mathematics and Science. I also teach English, Mandarin Chinese and Drama.

As a patient, adaptable, enthusiastic and hard-working person, I actively engage students to make lessons fun and to help build students’ confidence in their abilities. I believe that hard work, perseverance and patience as well as making a subject interesting are key to achieving good results. I always tailor my lessons to a student’s requirements and to listen to their needs to help them achieve their desired goals.

Not only do I have experience in teaching the academic subjects, I also have experience of the corporate world and can help with students’ applications and interview techniques.

Recent tuition

Please find below a snapshot of my tuition experience:

Primary Mathematics and English

I have experience of helping students to improve their comprehension, writing and basic Maths skills. I provide homework support and help to cover any gaps in knowledge. For example, I tutored one student who had fallen behind after some time out of school due to medical reasons to catch with the rest of her class and to help her build confidence in her abilities.

11+ General

I have experience of helping students with exam preparation and exam techniques. In addition to looking at Maths and English, I also helped students to prepare for verbal and non-verbal reasoning tests.

11+ English and Maths (SEN ASD)

I am currently working with a student to prepare for his 11+ next year, looking at both Maths and English revision and helping him to build confidence in his skills and the ability to work independently. He is applying to St. Dustan’s College and Colfe’s.

11+ Preparation

I am currently supporting a girl who is looking towards 11+ exams for competitive independent schools, including Cheltenham Ladies. We are working to make sure that she keeps on track and ahead of the curve with the school curriculum.

KS3 Mathematics

I have extensive experience of helping students to come to grips with basic Maths skills needed to move onto GCSE level and helping students with homework support to ensure that they are up to speed with the school curriculum. For example, I tutored a student who was struggling with some of the harder topics after he had fallen behind in school to catch up with the rest of his class and to build his confidence to ensure that he was ready to start GCSE Maths.

KS3 and GCSE Mathematics and Science Homeschooling – I have experience of homeschooling various students in Maths and Science, both on a temporary basis ensuring that students were up to date with their learning for a smooth transition back to school, as well as on a more permanent basis.

GCSE Mathematics

I have experience of supporting students’ studies and helping them to revise difficult subject areas before exams to achieve A – A* grades. For example, I helped a student to revise before her GCSE exams to ensure that she achieved her target grade of A*. In addition, I also have experience of helping students who are struggling with Maths to cover any knowledge gaps and to gain confidence in their abilities to achieve their best results.

GCSE English

I have worked with several students on their GCSE English. For example, I home schooled a student in English Language and Literature through her GCSEs. She was really struggling and was predicted to fail. I supported her with essay structure and writing, and taught her how to analyse fiction and non-fiction texts. This process also had a transformative effect on her confidence – she went from asking me ‘is this right?’ to believing that she had the skills and knowledge to succeed. After being predicted to fail, she ended up achieving a 6 at GCSE.

GCSE Science

I have experience of supporting students’ studies and helping them to revise before exams to ensure that they achieve their desired grades. For example, I helped a student to revise Biology and Physics as well as looking at exam techniques and how to apply knowledge learned to answer exam questions in the right way. She was able to achieve two grade As after having being predicted grade B.

Hobbies and Interests

Having completed a Law degree and the Bar Vocational Course, I spent some time working in one of the largest law firms in the North West. I left the legal profession to pursue my dreams of working in the theatre and have since gained a masters degree in Professional Acting from one of the leading drama schools in the country.

Apart from teaching, I also work in Theatre and Film. I am a friendly and sociable person and in my spare time I love photography, cooking, baking, travelling and diving.

Client Testimonials

“Teaching is a skill that come naturally to Shuang who manages to make the practical aspect of learning a language an enjoyable one.”

“Her teaching style is relaxed and very much tapered to the individuals requirements. Once she understands the aim of the student, she is able to devise a bespoke teaching plan ensuring quick progression towards the students final goal. Recommended!”

“She manages to keep my son engaged in the activity that they are completing which in my son’s case is no small feat. Her method lets my son understand the problems and find the solutions in an easy and efficient way. I would have no hesitation in recommending her to any interested parties, key words that I would associate Shuang with are Polite, Punctual and Professional.”

Parent of KS 3/4 Maths student

  • Home schooling Experience