Make an Enquiry

Oliver K

"In tutoring A in a range of subjects, including Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geography, French, Maths, History and English, Oliver has managed to inspire an interest in subjects that A previously did not particularly enjoy (especially the Sciences) as well as improve his exam marks significantly. His positive, energetic and patient approach have worked wonders."

Parent of Common Entrance and GCSE student

  • 11+

  • A Level

  • Chemistry

  • English

  • GCSE

  • Geography

  • Maths

  • University Applications

Academic History

Imperial College London, October 2011 – September 2012: MSc Environmental Technology: Distinction graded

University of Edinburgh, September 2005 – June 2009: BSc (Hons) Geography: 2:1

Hills Road Sixth Form College, Cambridge, September 2002 – June 2004: A-levels: Chemistry, French, Geography and Psychology (all As and Bs)

Chesterton College, Cambridge, September 1997 – June 2002: GCSEs: Double Science Award (A*/A*), English Language (A), English Literature (A), Maths (A), French (A), Geography (A*), Art (A), Music (A), Design Technology (A)

About Me

I think the following skills help me to be a good tutor: patience, enthusiasm for the subjects I teach, an ability to explain concepts so that they are more easily understandable, and making sure that the student does the majority of ‘doing’ during tutor sessions. Ideally, I aim for my students to not only take on new subject knowledge, but also improve their own revision techniques, study organisational skills, and general approach to their studies. Developing more general skills such as those aforementioned means the student is much better equipped for self-study once the tutoring placement has been completed. I always try to be as flexible as possible in terms of scheduling student’s lessons to suit the client, and particularly in the situation of residential placements where being able to fit into potentially ever-changing family scheduling is of the utmost importance.

Recent tuition

I have tutored and prepared students for a number of entrance examinations, typically in the rough age category of the 11+ and 13+. The exams have either been 11+, ISEB Pre-test, CAT4, or individual exams created specifically by a particular school. These have included entry into the following schools:-

Bradfield College, Brighton College, Charterhouse, City of London Boys’, Colfes, Dulwich, Eton College, Habs Boys’, Harrodian, Harrow, Highgate School, King’s Wimbledon, Latymer, Magdalen College School (Oxford), Oundle, Perse (Cambridge), Queensgate, Radley College, Sevenoaks, St Dunstans, St Paul’s, Wellington College and Westminster.

I have also helped a number of students gain places at Universities through supporting them in guiding them towards the most suitable University and courses for their interest/ability, and then helping them perfect their personal statements. These have included entry into:-

Bristol, Edinburgh, Imperial College London, Kings College London, Kingston, London School of Economics, Oxford, University College London and the University of West London.

Here are some examples of my recent tuition:

11+ Pre-test (India)

I tutoring a native Indian student looking to enter the British boarding school system. We focused on verbal reasoning, non-verbal reasoning, English and Maths for the online 11+ pre-test examination, as well as preparation for the UKiset exam. After tutoring, the student scored in the top 1 percentile in Maths, top 5 percentile in vocabulary and top 8 percentile in non-verbal reasoning among his UK-based peers in his UKiset exam, as well as passing the 11+ pre-test for all schools entered for, eventually going to Harrow.

11+ entrance exams (London)

A long-term student, weekly tuition since he arrived new to the UK (aged nine) in English, Maths, Verbal and Non-Verbal Reasoning, as well as organising educational trips, purchasing him a small library of tailored fiction and non-fiction books, and giving him lessons in culture, etiquette and interview practice. The student gained offers from the seven schools that he applied to, including:- City of London Boys, Habs Boys, Perse Cambridge, MCS Oxford, Highgate, Latymer and Dulwich. As a reference point, when we started tuition he barely spoke English (he was scoring around 5-10 out of 100 in the Bond English tests).

iGCSE Chemistry (Milan)

Homeschooling a student during the Summer holidays between Year 10 and 11 in GCSE Chemistry in Milan. The student had not taken Chemistry during year 10 due to timetabling conflicts at his international school, and so had to take this GCSE outside of school. From scratch, we covered the whole syllabus over an intensive period of two weeks. Day to day scheduling flexibility was crucial as the student was a competitive show jumper which required a lot of training. At the end of the fortnight, the student took a mock exam and managed to get an A*.

GCSE generalist (London and Sussex)

Recommended by a previous client, I intensively tutored this GCSE student across all subjects through the holidays, half-terms and exeats in preparation for her GCSE exams. The student had SEN requirements (including being neurodiverse) and had missed considerable time from school (Bedales) the previous term. In her exams she achieved two 9s, four 8s and one 7 (having been predicted a mixture of 5s and 6s in her November school report).

GCSE generalist (Sussex and Greece)

After a student had received disappointing grades in her GCSE mock exams, I was brought in to intensively tutor a Brighton College student during weekends, half-terms and holidays, as well as intensive revision support over the five week period of the GCSEs. Having received two Bs, two Cs, a D, an E and an F in her January mock exams, the student went on to receive 2 A*s, 3 As and 2 Bs in her final GCSEs.

Various ages (Italian Alps)

Responsible for the schooling of a group of around 20 students aged between 9 and 16 for a ski racing team (Alpine Performance Racing) , who are training to be professional alpine (downhill) skiers and attending training and competition throughout the winter ski season. The role required regular liaising with each student’s school and teachers, flexibility, some pastoral elements and balancing multiple students workloads and individual support simultaneously.

Homeschooling Year 8 (Devon)

Working with a 13 year old student across all subjects around five hours per day, to support him with his schooling during the early months of Covid lockdown. The student was struggling with motivation, and feeling isolated during the lockdown. As well as helping him with the academic knowledge element of his studies, the placement was also as much about improving his general confidence and creating a more positive outlook. I also oversaw pastoral activities outside of tutoring time (such as skateboarding and drawing).

GCSE Geography (online and London)

Online revision support with an Eton College student in the run-up to his AQA GCSE Geography exams. The tuition then transitioned into face-to-face extended sessions at their home in St John’s Wood. As I am also an AQA GCSE Geography exam marker, I was able to offer him pointed support in how to approach exam questions (particularly the 6-9 marker case study answers which he had struggled with previously). The student obtained a grade 9, and his enjoyment of our Geography sessions influenced the student into selecting Geography as one of his four subject choices at A-level.

A-level Geography (online)

Supporting a student in the final two months prior to her A-level Geography exams through online tutoring sessions. The student was not enjoying the subject and had regretted choosing it, and was predicted a B/C. She was more of an arts-geared student, and struggled with the Science elements of the Geography syllabus. Through our online lessons in the run up to the exams, the student managed to obtain an A grade (and was just four marks off an A*) and was thoroughly delighted with her result.

Undergraduate Geography – final year (online)

Working with a final year undergraduate Geography student, who had been struggling with her essays. Through the course of the year, I helped her in focusing on understanding the course content, essay writing techniques, proofreading essays and her final dissertation, and how to summarise core readings into useful notes. Originally, the student was on a low 2:2 grade, but eventually graduated with a 2:1 and was both very happy and relieved.

Hobbies and Interests

Outside of tutoring, I enjoy playing tennis (I have an LTA tennis coaching qualification), bouldering, skiing/snowboarding, surfing and running. I have run a marathon, raising £2300 for a disaster relief charity. I immensely enjoy the process of learning new sports/physical activities, going from being a complete beginner to enhancing my level.

I enjoy travelling and experiencing different cultures, as well as learning new languages, and can speak varying levels of French, Spanish, Greek and Chinese Mandarin. Having travelled to over 80 countries in my adult life, I have gained great perspective on people and societies around the globe.

One of my occasional past-times is to do some Supporting Artiste (Extra) work as well as appear on TV game shows. I have been on – in total – seven TV game shows, putting my general knowledge to the test – and was fortunate enough to win on two of them.

Testimonials

“Oliver has been tutoring my son in preparation for Common Entrance exams at Wellington College throughout the academic year of year eight and for end of year exams each year since. In tutoring A in a range of subjects, including Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Geography, French, Maths, History and English, Oliver has managed to inspire an interest in subjects that A previously did not particularly enjoy (especially the Sciences) as well as improve his exam marks significantly. His positive, energetic and patient approach have worked wonders with A. Having had several tutors support A, he requested further lesson with Oliver – a testament to his ability to inspire and encourage enjoyment in learning. Oliver gets on extremely well with all the other family members, and is more than happy to spend some time after tutorials chatting with the family in the kitchen, or playing table tennis with A on the patio.”

Common Entrance entry into Wellington College, followed by GCSE support

“R’s results were amazing. He got that 8 in maths… wow….blimey, these results are just brilliant, from predicted 5’s in November for just about everything, to this set of results after working with you. We are so grateful to you Ollie!”

GCSE Generalist student, working across all subjects, partly residential

“Ollie, I thought you’d be pleased to hear that R’s scores were dramatically increased in her recent mocks. Her next set of mocks are after half-term and I wondered if you would be free to work with her each day from Monday 9th to Friday 13th inclusive. I do hope so!”

Common Entrance for successful entry into Brighton College, followed by GCSE support

 

  • Fully Vetted

  • Home schooling Experience

  • Online Tutor