Make an Enquiry

Daria

Daria has been represented by Simply Learning Tuition since 2013 and has worked with several of our clients on a long term basis, with particular success in 11+ Exam Preparation and with SEN students.

Simply Learning Tuition

  • 11+

  • English

  • Maths

  • Senior School Entrance

Academic History

2007 -2010    Queen Mary, University of London

BA (Hons) in Drama and English (Second Upper Class)

June 2007       TEFL Certificate Course

2005 – 2007    Haileybury School (Scholarship in Drama)

International Baccalaureate: Higher English 5, Higher Philosophy 5, Higher Theatre Arts 6, Mathematics Methods 4, Spanish 4, Biology 5, Theory of Knowledge C

A-level: Russian A

2000 – 2005  Raphael Independent School

GCSE: Mathematics A, Science BB, English BB, Spanish A, Russian A*, Business Studies B, Drama A

About Me

My specialist subjects are English and Maths at primary level, including SEN support. I also teach Science, along with Verbal and Non Verbal Reasoning for 11+.

Recent tuition

What follows is a selection of past students, representative of my experience.

I have previously worked with different primary schools around London as a tutor, mostly with small groups of children as well as one to one. I have also tutored private clients preparing for the 7+, 11+ and trying to catch up with school work if they have fallen behind.

Private Tuition:

Maths – I worked on a weekly basis with siblings Matilda (8) and Bethie (6), mostly consolidating concepts covered in class but not fully grasped. We also work on mental maths strategies.

English and Maths- Theo (7) studies at an English school in Bali, where the family are based. He came over to the UK for three weeks in the Autumn and required some intensive daily tuition session because he had fallen behind at school. Theo often found it difficult to concentrate on one task, which made it hard for him to grasp how the times tables worked. I found that varying the activities and methods of learning helped Theo say much more focused. By the end of the 3 weeks Theo knew his 2, 5, 10, 3 and 4 times tables and had started attempting time problems, which he had not been able to do in class. Theo also had trouble reading texts suitable for his age but found a phonics-based approach very helpful.

English and Maths- Phoebe (10) had recently come over from China to study at boarding school in the UK. She was on a half term break and needed some intensive tuition during her 2 weeks at home. Phoebe was very strong in maths but her limited English prevented her from being able to understand the questions she was asked a lot of the time. We did a lot of work on maths terminology, which helped Phoebe feel more confident. As English was a fairly new second language for Phoebe she was understandably nervous about the subject so it was important to put her at her ease by choosing the correct reading level, engaging her with texts about subjects she found interesting and working on vocabulary and grammar through them.

Maths – weekly catch up sessions with 10 year old Conrad. Conrad had mild hearing difficulties and recently moved to the UK from a school in Nigeria so has some gaps in his core mathematical knowledge. We were working through the Year 4 and Year 5 curriculums to fill these gaps. Conrad has made excellent progress and after several months of tuition was on the same level as the rest of his class.

English and Maths – intensive tuition over a two week period with Miav, who was staying in the UK for a couple of months. His family are from Saudi Arabia and they travel extensively so Miav has moved between several different schools. Consequently, he had quite large gaps in his knowledge within key areas so we focused on filling these.

Maths- Lucas (8) and Rafael (10) were brothers that I worked with on a weekly basis for just over a year. Lucas didn’t like Maths very much when we first started tuition so getting excited about learning new methods to help him with his class work was a priority. Rafael on the other hand loved maths, was always looking for a new challenge and needed to be pushed beyond the work that he had done in class in order to keep him interested in the subject.

11+ entrance exams – I have worked extensively with students preparing for the 11+ entrance exams, and have seen them go on to secure places at some of London’s top schools including City of London, St. Paul’s, Latymer, and Highgate.

11+ preparation – I worked with Ella for just over a year in the run up to her 11+ exams. She needed help with more challenging and complex comprehension texts, as well as working on a better understanding and new methods of dealing with 11+ maths problems. Ella was successful in gaining a place at Channing and is now happily settled there.

11+ preparation (ongoing) – whilst supporting Ella (above) I have also been working with her younger sister Maya, since she was 7. Maya and I are now focusing on her preparation for 11+ exams to Channing and Highgate.

11+ preparation – I worked with Margot for over a year leading up to her 11+ exams. She was a very enthusiastic and proactive student, but needed help in getting used to 11+ exam style questions and understanding what was being asked of her. Margot had never attempted Verbal or Non Verbal reasoning questions before and so found them more challenging. However she was very excited about learning new methods of dealing with the various types of questions she was likely to face. Margot was successful in gaining offers for Channing and Camden School for Girls, and is now happily attending at Camden.

11+ preparation (ongoing) – I am working with Tilly (Margot’s sister) in preparation for her exams to Highgate, Channing, City of London Girl’s and Camden School for Girls.

11+ preparation – I worked with a boy in the run up to his 11+ exams at the end of 2017. I am pleased to say that he has just received an offer from Latymer and will start there in the Autumn of 2018.

11+ group tuition – for the past 2 years I have provided regular holiday tuition to groups of students preparing for the 11+ exams. We focus on covering skills in English, maths and reasoning. These students are by majority applying to top schools in central and west London, as well as leading boarding schools in the UK.

School Tuition:

English – Year 6. I worked with 7 children over the course of a full school day. I worked with the same group on a weekly basis. This was a combination of one to one and two to one support. We worked mostly on teaching and improving grammar and also cover comprehension skills. The lessons were tailored each week to ensure they are leading on from content covered in full class lessons.

Maths – I worked one half day each week with the same 3 children, consolidating new maths concepts taught in class in preparation for their SATs.

English and Maths- I worked with small groups of students, who had fallen behind in class for various reasons. The main focus was to get them up to speed with the rest of their class by working closely with various class teachers to improve confidence in maths and reading over the space of several months.

English- I worked on a one to one basis with several students at an academy in South London to improve comprehension and writing skills, ahead of their SATs. Most of the students had some difficulties due to having English as a second language. The tuition sessions were mostly about improving their confidence and getting a better handle on grammar and spelling.

SEN Experience:

I have worked with a very wide range of disabilities, most of my experience is in working with children who have Autism, ADHD and those with ASD.

Most recently I have worked on a one to one basis with a five year old boy with ADHD in a mainstream school. We have worked on strategies to help him in the classroom as well as teaching maths and English to fill in the gaps in his knowledge.

Ethan 6: Ethan has ADHD so he was struggling to concentrate in a classroom environment and needed one to one help. Ethan really enjoyed drawing so I found that if he could illustrate his math and English work he could focus on it for longer periods of time and absorb more information.

Mohammed 5- Mohammed is autistic and I found that he responded a lot better to colourful maths puzzles that he could touch and explore. Mohammed was also very interested in dinosaurs, space and planets so choosing books on those subjects helped get him interested in reading.

Oliver 5- Oliver has selective mutism. I found that giving him clear choices gave him the confidence to express himself and want to participate in activities with other children.

Hobbies and Interests

I surf, horse ride and play the ukulele.

 

  • Fully Vetted

  • SEN Specialist