Make an Enquiry

Zara

"I am so pleased we found Zara to help our son with his English GCSE studies. Our son is not overly confident but Zara’s friendly, calm and patient approach makes him feel at ease."

Parent of GCSE English student

  • 11+

  • A Level

  • Criminology

  • Economics

  • English

  • GCSE

  • Maths

  • Philosophy

  • Science

Academic History

University of Southampton – Criminology 2:1

University of Huddersfield – Policing – Distinction

A Levels: Economics (B), Classical Civilisation (B), Philosophy & Ethics (B)

GCSEs: Religious Studies (A*), English Language (A*), Chemistry (A*), English Literature (A), Maths (A), Biology (A), Physics (A), Design Technology (A), IT (A), History (B), Art (B), French (C)

About Me

In my tutoring approach, I emphasise warmth, professionalism, and empathy to create a supportive and engaging learning environment. I understand that each student has unique needs, so I tailor my methods to suit their individual learning styles. I employ a variety of techniques, blending traditional teaching methods with innovative strategies to keep sessions dynamic and effective. Whether it’s using real-life examples, interactive activities, or guided discussions, I aim to make learning enjoyable and accessible. I understand the importance of flexibility in accommodating students’ schedules, abilities, and learning goals, and I am committed to adjusting my approach accordingly. Above all, my passion for education fuels my dedication to empowering students to reach their full potential and cultivate a lifelong enthusiasm for learning. Through my personalised and student-centred approach, I strive to make a meaningful impact on the academic journey of every student I work with.

Recent Tuition

KS1 Maths and English

I tutored D for two years throughout his primary school education. D had SEN and would struggle with concentration for prolonged periods of time. I focused on keeping our lessons engaging and interactive, but also recognised that for D some days would be harder than others. I had to remain flexible and encourage him to complete his homework. Overtime, D and I had built up a great rapport which along with his efforts only made this easier.

KS2 Science, English and Maths

I tutored A for 3 years throughout her primary school education. During this time, I supported her in a variety of subjects including Science, Maths and English and then in secondary school entrance exams. She was eager to learn but would often rush through worksheets leading to avoidable mistake. Therefore, my focus was on exam techniques and encouraging her to slow down and double check answers. She successfully passed the entrance exam for her local grammar school.

GCSE Science and Maths

I tutored E in Science and Maths GCSE (AQA). When I first started tutoring E her confidence was at an all time low. She had low attendance caused by medical issues and was recently diagnosed with dyslexia. With E I started with the foundations and focused on the easy wins to begin building her confidence back. When I started tutoring E she was talking about leaving school after her GCSEs. She went on to complete her A levels!

GCSE Science and Maths

I tutored C in GCSE Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Maths (AQA) for a year. C was very energetic and had good knowledge of the subjects but struggled to perform well in exams, often achieving a grade of 4 or 5. Together, we focused on practice exams and mark scheme to increase both her confidence and experience in completing them. In her GCSEs, C achieved 8s and 9s in her Science and Maths.

A level Classical Civilisation

I tutored G in A level Classical Civilisation (AQA). G was naturally academically gifted but found the transition from GCSEs to A levels difficult. Throughout the course of the year, we worked on honing down on specific points in the syllabus to help structure her course work and then revision. Grace worked incredibly hard and achieved an A*.

Hobbies and Interests

I’m passionate about maintaining my fitness. I do strength training three times a week and am also preparing for half marathon. This not only keeps me physically fit but is also great for my mental health whilst providing a sense of accomplishment. Additionally, I am currently taking Spanish lessons, sparked by my familial connections in Spain and proved extremely useful whilst travelling Peru in November last year. I also have a keen interest in fashion and design. Since being a teenager I have made my own clothes which provides both a creative outlet and respite from screens. Lastly, I am an incredibly social person. Ideally most of my free time is spent connecting with friends and engaging in conversation until the end of the day where I love to unwind by reading before bed.

Testimonials

“Zara has helped my niece so much, she has tutored her in several subjects and her confidence has improved. She was particularly worried about exam techniques and being dyslexic was losing confidence rapidly as GCSE mocks were approaching even talking about leaving school after her GCSE’s. She’s now talking about what she’d like to do for A levels! Thanks so much Zara.”

Aunt of GCSE student

“Zara has been very welcoming and has a friendly helpful approach. My daughter is approaching her GCSE`s this summer and Zara has been helping with Maths I am confident she will be able to get her a pass. She is very patient and explains the content thoroughly. I would definitely recommend Zara.”

Parent of GCSE Maths student

“I am so pleased we found Zara to help our son with his English GCSE studies. Our son is not overly confident but Zara’s friendly, calm and patient approach makes him feel at ease. Zara is also polite and reliable and I would highly recommend her to anyone looking for a tutor.”

Parent of GCSE English student

  • Fully Vetted

  • SEN Experience