Make an Enquiry

Rashed

"The teachers were bad, except Rashed who was excellent !"

Science Tuition

  • 11+

  • Biology

  • Chemistry

  • English

  • Maths

  • Physics

  • Senior School Entrance

Academic History

Chemical Engineering PhD 2016

Chemical Engineering MEng 2008

About Me

My specialist subjects are Chemistry, Biology and Physics (GCSE and A-Level) I also provide tuition in maths and English for the 11+.  I also have experience in helping students with their personal statements, UCAS forms and informal interview preparation. I believe a student’s success is critical upon helping them initiate an interest in their subjects whilst focussing them in the right direction, encourage them to think critically about their work and use different methods to suit their own learning styles. I see tutoring as not only a means of additional learning but also being a mentor to help inspire students as much as possible and encourage them to learn and also teach others.

I am a PhD Researcher at University College London, in Electrochemical Engineering and Chemical Engineering and have worked in collaboration with several universities; Aix-Marseille University, France, Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland, and funded through an Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) grant and an Entente Cordiale scholarship.

I have experience using MTDATA 7.1 and HSC-Chemistry 6.1 for producing phase diagrams, ChemCAD, Aspen-HYSYS for process plant design, gPROMS and Matlab for optimisation problems, SolidWorks (3D CAD software) to design engineering components, PHAST for gas dispersion modelling and Lyx (Latex processor) for writing books and papers.

Recent tuition

Please find below a snapshot of my tuition experience.

11+

Three recent students of mine raised their grades in their 11+ examinations in mathematics, English and verbal reasoning and went to choose the secondary school of her choice. I taught these sessions through tackling past papers, by focusing on questions they were struggling. I always saw a huge improvement in their learning and they felt them always much more confident in tackling questions on their own correctly.

GCSE Maths

I have supported to following students with their GCSE Maths:

John – Edexcel Mathematics (Progressed from a U to a C)

Cameron – Edexcel Mathematics

Obina – Edexcel Mathematics

Umar and Ismaeel – Edexcel Mathematics

Daniyal – GCSe Mathematics

Roddy – GCSE Mathematics

Divya – GCSE Mathematics

Emma – GCSE Mathematics

AS and A-Level Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Maths

From GCSE level I regularly worked with a student helping him through his GCSE and A-Level (AQA and OCR boards) examinations.

A-level Mathematics

I taught 2 students (both brothers) who were in Year 13 consisting of Pure, Statistics and Mechanics every week from September onwards to May.

A-level Mathematics (Edexcel)

I also taught another student in Year 13 board for 1 hour from November onwards until May.

A-level Physics (Edexcel)

I also taught 2 students every week from September onwards to May.

A-level student for Physics (AQA)

I have also been teaching a student who is now going into year 13. I started teaching him when he was in year 12 and we will work together until the exams.

Undergraduate maths and science

Provided teaching support throughout the academic year. This involved encouraging students through natural enthusiasm, providing feedback on work that they had previously done and explaining how to improve their grades.

Hobbies and Interests

I have many interests such as learning Arabic and Italian with the Language Evening Lessons (CPD accredited with University College London, Language Centre (now the UCL Centre for Languages & International Education). I also have studied abroad at the University for Foreigners of Perugia where I took an intensive Italian training programme. These experiences can be useful when working with students with different backgrounds and cultures. I also have a strong interest in underwater sea life and am a trained Scuba Diver with the British Sub Aqua Club (BSAC) and currently hold an Ocean Divers Qualification Certificate. I was also elected the Halls President the Halls president and Treasurer for my halls of Residences House, during my undergraduate degree, where my duties included chairing meetings between active committee members, arranging social events for residents in halls to promote a sense of community and bring matters of interest to the student community. I was also the President of Chess Club during my secondary education and awarded House Colours for my services to the society.

Client Testimonials

The teachers were bad, except Rashed who was excellent ! (anonymous student)

 

  • Fully Vetted