Make an Enquiry

Omari

"Omari was an excellent and professional tutor, always punctual and well-presented. He helped my son who had been really struggling to grasp some of the key elements of his 11+ but Omari got him over this hump. My son is now at Whitgift having had his choice of schools. He's now helping my son again as he prepares for his GCSEs."

11+ Entrance Exam Tuition

  • 11+

  • 13 +

  • 7+/8+

  • A Level

  • Classics

  • English as a Foreign Language

  • English Language

  • English Literature

  • GCSE

  • Home schooling

  • Latin

  • Senior School Entrance

  • Spanish

  • UKiset

Academic History

University of Oxford (BA Hons) English & Spanish, 2:1

Dulwich College, London

A2: English | Spanish | Ancient History (All As)

AS: English | Spanish | Ancient History | Latin | General Studies (All As)

GCSEs: English Literature | English Language | Maths | Biology | Physics | Chemistry | History | Classical Civilisation | Latin | Spanish | French | Italian (All A*s)

About Me

My specialist subjects are Spanish and English tuition up to undergraduate level, Latin up to GCSE and Classics to A-Level. I also have broad experience in all core subjects up to KS4 and have supported students in gaining entrance into some of the UK’s most competitive schools (8+, 11+, 13+). I am a TEFL qualified teacher and also teach the IELTS and the UKiset. I have experience with SAT general preparation, and English and Spanish SAT subject test preparation. Thanks to my terms as a student liaison officer at Oxford, I also know and understand the Oxbridge admissions process from the inside and can guide prospective students through those often muddy waters.

I’m a creative, committed and highly organised tutor with more than ten years’ experience of tutoring and mentoring behind me. In that time I’ve worked one-on-one with over 100 pupils from aged 7 to mature, busy professionals! Each new pupil is different, but each a pleasure and a unique challenge. I believe I’ve got consistent results because I always treat each pupil as they deserve to be treated – as an individual. That means that no matter their age, or if they are being home schooled, have learning difficulties or speak English as a second language; there’s always a way to make learning fun and accessible and, most importantly – productive.

In English my focus is always on bringing the words on the page to ‘everyday’ life. Whether it’s poetry or a newspaper article, I hope to open it up by making it relevant to my student’s experiences. Lots of my students who struggle with maths say that I really make it accessible to them by removing the abstract nature and helping them see the logic and patterns that underpin it all. My focus in my Spanish classes is on developing the student’s grammar on the one hand and comfort and confidence in speaking on the other.  I love the language and I bring fluency and the experience of living and working across Spain and Latin America to my lessons.

In all subjects, rather than a narrow definition of the syllabus, I stretch my students to explore the potential beyond the curriculum and develop a really personal enjoyment of the subject that will help them to thrive.

Recent Tuition

English and Maths, Year 2, Henry – I home schooled Henry in English and Maths ahead of helping him prepare to adjust to school for Year 3 entry.

8+ – I worked with Cate and Ben to prepare them for their entrance exams to Pembridge Hall and Wetherby.

9+ – I worked with Luca to prepare him to gain an extremely competitive place at KCS. We worked on both his Maths and English to familiarise him with practice papers.

11+ – I helped Leila with her English ahead of her taking her 11+ exam where she gained places at St Pauls, Godolphin and Latymer, Haberdashers and CLSG.

11+ – I worked with Barin on all aspects of the 11+ (Maths, English and Reasoning) who had only spent 2 years in the British Education system. He went on to gain an offer from KCS and an interview at Westminster and City of London.

11+ – I worked with Rainer on his Maths and English to gain entry into Whitgift school and Trinity.

Westminster Scholarship – Chandresh and I worked on all subjects for his scholarship which involved successfully guiding him from 10 and 11+ exams for entry to Westminster Under school and he is now in the scholarship set in year 8.

Eton List test – I am preparing two students for Eton entry. I have created a pack of revision materials to prepare students for the specific parts of that test, such as the timed corrective grammar essay.

13+ – I am working with Jack on his English to prepare him for the Westminster Challenge exam.

13+ – Rakesh and I worked towards the Harrow Scholarship together which resulted in him successfully being awarded an academic scholarship.

13+ – Josh and I worked on all subjects for his 13+ entry to Tonbridge.

13+ – I worked on all 13+ subjects with Rupert and after a lot of hard work he successfully gained entry into Radley.

16+ – I have worked with many students in preparation for the 16+, including English and Spanish to Westminster. I have also worked with students applying to Rugby, King’s Canterbury, Dulwich College and St. Clare’s Oxford. I really stretch my students at 16+ and create lessons that engage and challenge them to develop their critical thinking skills. It’s important with applications at this level for students to develop and build upon their own areas of interest, particularly in light of looking ahead to university applications, where it is key to be able to demonstrate skills for independent thinking and research.

UKiset and 11+ pre-test preparation – Ongoing weekly support for Finley, who is currently based in the USA but looking to move to a UK boarding school in Year 9. Together we are working to help Finley close the gaps between his US and UK curriculum, and to gain confidence and skill with the British style of testing.

Spanish, GCSE (OCR) with Jack – Jack was originally predicted a C however he managed to increase his grade to finally achieve an A* with exceptional marks in his oral and writing in particular (238/240).

English, GCSE (OCR) – Beatrix and I worked on her English to improve her grade from a B/C to an A*.

English Literature, IB (SL) – Enrico was an Italian student, studying at a UK school. I supported him through his IB, and he did very well in his exams. He is now studying Business and Management as he has always aimed for.

AS, Spanish and English (AQA) – I worked with Nathalie on both her English and Spanish. For Spanish we predominantly focused on her oral and for poetry we concentrated on the poetry aspect of her course.

Oxford Entrance to study Spanish – Christy and I worked together to help with her application to read Spanish at Oriel College Oxford.

Oxford Interview Preparation and Tests – I work with students to help them prepare for their interviews and tests, giving them advice and ideas of what to research.

Part time Respite Carer for three and a half years – This involved looking after and teaching literacy and numeracy to two brothers with severe learning difficulties. Michael, 13, has Down’s Syndrome and his brother Joe has Autism.

SAT Preparation – I have helped several students prepare for both the SAT 1 and 2 in English and Spanish, including students who have gone on to top American schools such as Dartmouth.

Hobbies and Interests

I’m a broadcast journalist for the BBC, which is something I cherish. I love working in the newsroom or out in the field and as I’m passionate about communication – good communication!

I’m a great fan of Hispanic culture. I have travelled widely and lived in Latin America and managed even to work as a foreign reporter for the BBC in Bolivia. Since parading in the Rio Carnival in 2008, I’ve discovered Brazilian culture and am now an active member of Capoeira and Samba groups in London.

Client Testimonials

“Omari was an excellent and professional tutor, always punctual and well-presented. He helped my son who had been really struggling to grasp some of the key elements of his 11+ but Omari got him over this hump. My son is now at Whitgift having had his choice of schools. He’s now helping my son again as he prepares for his GCSEs.”

11+ Entrance Exam Tuition

“Ruk’s really enjoying her sessions with you. I saw it straight away. We’ve had other tutors before and she’s been really switched off, but she’s really coming along with you. We’ll have to get you working with Anneka and Jack too.”

Parent of English 11+ student

“I’ve just received an A* in my Spanish GCSE, which I’m so happy with!! I lost 2 marks out of 240 for my speaking and writing which you helped me with, and As in my reading and listening which is solid. That’s definitely exceeded all expectations and I can’t thank you enough for helping me out over the past year. ”

GCSE Spanish student

  • Entrance Exam Specialist

  • Multidisciplinary

  • Oxford Alumni