Make an Enquiry

Jenny HE

Ben is very happy about being accepted [at music college] ... Hopefully, you will still find time to continue the great work/support you've been giving him up until he goes in September. He thoroughly enjoys his time with you and benefits enormously in many ways".

Mrs X, Home schooling Tuition

  • A Level

  • Ancient Greek

  • English Language

  • English Literature

  • French

  • GCSE

  • German

  • Latin

  • Senior School Entrance

Academic History

2008-2011 University of Wales (Lampeter) Post-doctoral diploma in Religious Studies

1988-1994 University of Wales (Bangor) PhD Ancient Greek

1983-1985 London School of Theology MA distinction

1969-1973 University of London, BA Hons II i, French with English

1967-1969 Middlesbrough High School A Level: French General Studies English Latin ; AS level: French

1962-1967 Middlesbrough High School GCE O level: English language, English literature, Maths, French, Latin, German, History, Geography, Music, Physics, Chemistry

About Me

My main subjects are Classical languages (Greek and Latin) and I also teach English, French, Religious Studies. As well as 40 years teaching, I have worked as an external examiner for French A/IB exams; and as a PhD supervisor/examiner for theology and ancient Greek. As a private tutor, I have helped to prepare students for CE, public examinations and university entrance.

I am a highly organised person, with excellent communication skills, and I always bring creativity and a sense of humour to whatever I do. I instinctively seek to communicate my positive and optimistic outlook to the children I teach. My primary aim is to allow the student to experience learning as an enjoyable and rewarding activity. I organise the lessons in a way that fosters the active participation of the student at each stage, through exploring, questioning, carrying out tasks, solving challenges. I am committed to encouraging students to discover and develop their individual strengths, and to use those to compensate for any weaknesses and develop confidence in their abilities.

I have particular experiencing students with learning differences (e.g. dyslexia. Asperger’s Syndrome) As pupils discover the highest levels of which they are capable I expect them to strive to work to those and I support them as they grow in self-awareness and self-acceptance, by identifying any obstacles that hold them back and how to overcome them.

Recent tuition

Please see below for a snapshot of my recent experience.

I have taught in a variety of types of schools, state and independent, throughout my teaching career, as well as lecturing at universities in the UK and other countries. I have served as an external examiner for IB and UK exam boards, especially in French, and am familiar with both the GCSE and IGCSE syllabus. At university, I regularly supervise post-graduate students and am active as both an internal and external PhD examiner. I have experience of working with students who have learning differences, notably dyslexia and Asperger’s Syndrome. I have also tutored over 30 students online, through the use of Skype. I find Skype works particularly well for online Language lessons, as not only can you share your screen but the student can also record the session, and listen back to pronunciation and also the sentence structure that was used in the lesson. I also worked as an oral examiner for IB French. I have also prepared students for 13+ Common Entrance examinations for schools including St Pauls and Westminster schools.

I have taught English language and literature to GCSE and A level in various contexts, and love to share my passion for language and to explore literature together. As a published author of research in the field of humanities, I enjoy writing and am inspired by the writing of others to communicate effectively and creatively.

A selection of my private tuition in recent years has been:

2018 continuing: Ancient History A level. The student was feeling confused and demotivated, but we have been able to bring clarity to the requirements of the syllabus/exam and organise his study in such a way that he is enjoying the subject much more and feels more confident.

2017 6 weeks: English as a second language tuition of two primary age Russian children

2017-2018: Preparation for Year 11 IGCSE English. I worked with this student in the build up and for his first term of Year 11 IGCSE English, to help him gain confidence in his abilities.

2017: Preparation for Year 11 GCSE French. I worked with this student intensively when she was home from Boarding school. We worked especially on her pronunciation and the type of questions she will be asked in her exam, and how to prepare answers for this.

2017: Preparation for yr 11 GCSE Latin and French – with a week of intensive lessons, the student was able to catch up with his class-mates and gain confidence, having fallen behind because of dyslexic problems

2016-18: Preparation for scholarship/common entrance in Latin and Greek – the student’s grades improved and he gained confidence for his 13+ exam. He has discovered that Greek is fun.

2014-2015: IGCSE English – Entering into Year 11, this student has had no formal secondary education at all. He worked hard and with enthusiasm, and within 9 months of working together he achieved a B grade in both Literature and Language, and gained entry into a sixth form college.

2013-2015: A level English literature – the student had lessons with me for 2 years to complement school teaching, and achieved a grade A in her final exams. More importantly, she went from hating poetry to loving it!

2013-2015: English, Maths, German to GCSE – a ‘home-educated’ student with a passion for music and had had no formal secondary education. He got good enough results to be accepted at a music college for A levels.

2014-2015: English as a second language for an Indian lady who needed a high level for professional purposes. She became confident to take her examinations and gain promotion.

2010-2014: French at primary level to a pupil whose first language was Urdu. This prepared her for admission to a higher level of secondary school in her home country.

Hobbies and Interests

Alongside my teaching of ancient and modern languages and humanities, I have been enthusiastically engaged in research on ancient manuscripts. I have a PhD and a post-doctoral diploma and have published widely. I am often invited to teach abroad and to speak at international conferences. I enjoy spending time in musical activities (piano playing, singing), gardening and hill-walking.

Client Testimonials

“XX is very happy about being accepted [at music college] … Hopefully, you will still find time to continue the great work/support you’ve been giving him up until he goes in September. He thoroughly enjoys his time with you and benefits enormously in many ways “(mother of home-schooled student)

“You were a perfect match for my son, who is enjoying working with you and gaining in confidence” (mother of a university student)

“I hope you are still teaching when we have children as we would love them to have lessons with you” (mature student)

  • Qualified Teacher