Make an Enquiry

Emily-Rose

"Emily-Rose is a caring and creative tutor who always took care to make lessons fun and engaging. I would thoroughly recommend her as a trustworthy and kind individual and an inspiring, competent teacher."

Mrs Wiles, Year 8 Homeschooling tuition

  • 11+

  • 7+/8+

  • English as a Foreign Language

  • English Language

  • English Literature

  • Maths

  • Senior School Entrance

Academic History

TEFL qualification July 2014

2007 – 2011 French and Russian BA, Joint Honours at the University of Nottingham, 2:1 Hons.

2004 – 2006 Ockbrook School for Girls, Derby

3 GCE A-Levels: English Literature (A), French (A), Music (B)

Music Scholarship

OCR Level 2 Certificate in Enterprise (Distinction)

Birtill Prize for French

2002 – 2004 Bluecoat School, Nottingham

11 GCSEs English Language (A), English Literature (A), Mathematics (B), Biology (A) Physics (C), Chemistry (A), Art and Design (A),

Textiles (A*), French (A*), Philosophy and Ethics (A), Information and Communication Technology (B)

About Me

My specialist subjects are English Language and Literature and ESOL/ EFL, I also teach 11+/10+/8+ Maths and English.

I am an experienced, friendly and creative tutor with a keen interest in my students’ interests and aims. I always seek to find out their motivations and passions and use these as inspiration for my lessons with them. I have always enjoyed great working relationships with all my past students and pride myself on providing a relaxed yet engaging study environment which allows them to thrive. I’ve taught a range of ages, from 7 – 22 and have always had good results and second-to-none feedback.

Recent tuition

I have provided some examples of my tutoring experience below.

October 2016 – present Private tutor focusing on 11+ and 10+ exams (English, maths, interview technique) for schools such as St Pauls, Emmanuel, Putney and Notting Hill, Latymer and Harrodian, as well as maths and English support for students aged 6 upwards and IELTS. I have experience of homeschooling including as a live-in tutor for a HNW Russian family and taking students on educational trips around London and always try to make learning a fun  hands-on experience wherever possible.

December 2015 –  August 2016 Live-in personal tutor for a 24 year old woman who wanted to master practical English for every-day situations and to further her career as a TV presenter. From elementary level I took her to upper intermediate with an intensive tailored course of 6 hours per day 6 days a week. I ensured the lessons were as varied and engaging as possible and it was a pleasure to witness her confidence soar and her spoken and written English improving in leaps and bounds.

September 2014 – November 2015 Live-in personal tutor in Moscow to a 16 year old girl teaching English, maths, science, history and drama at KS3 and GCSE level, and to prepare her for entrance into an English private school. I also supported her in the UK for her initial months at the school while she got settled in. She achieved a very high level of spoken English and gained a place at an English school, where she has been happily studying for the past year. She grew enormously in confidence and independence whilst I was with her. I attribute this to our excellent working relationship, patience and genuine solicitude for the girl. I also encouraged her to become involved in extra curricular activities, such as drama classes, at which she excelled.

August 2014 (3 weeks)  I tutored at a country house Summer school in Norfolk. I had two Russian tutees, one 11 year old and one 19 year old, for whom I provided intensive one-on-one lessons tailored to their individual needs: the latter wanted specific tutoring (4+ hours a day) to the end of passing IELTS exams; the former, an all-round immersive English experience to maintain and improve her written and spoken English skills between academic terms. These lessons included cooking, educational treasure hunts, nature / beach walks and boat trips, alongside more traditional class based sessions.

April 2012 (4 weeks) I was part of a team that went out to Dodeni, Romania, to work with children from ages 4-16, teaching them English through arts, crafts, singing and games.

Hobbies and Interests 

I love reading and constantly have a book on the go. I am passionate about the arts, particularly theatre and try to see as much as possible, whilst also being very keen on acting myself. I am a competent horse rider and a talented cook and am passionate about good food and travelling (particularly around France). My other main interests are long walks and running in the countryside, writing and music (I play the oboe to grade 8 standard and have traveled around the UK and abroad with various orchestras).

Client Testimonials

“Emily-Rose is a caring and creative tutor who always took care to make lessons fun and engaging. I would thoroughly recommend her as a trustworthy and kind individual and an inspiring, competent teacher.”

Sarah Willes, carer of Bao (12 years old, homeschooling student)

“I had worked with Emily for a whole year and there was never a minute when I regretted that decision.

When I first met her my English was quite average. I knew how to hold a conversation and the basics of grammar. I was meant to come over to the UK and embark on my education there ( A-levels ) ,therefore it was very important for me to improve my English as soon as possible. So as were were studying, everyone instantly noticed my improvement and by the end of our journey together my language was absolutely perfect. I actually quite often get mistaken for an English person. Even yesterday a taxi driver thought that I was a girl from somewhere like Berkshire.

In the process of our lessons we not only focused on English language but also on subjects, such as Maths, History, Drama, Science etc. Although I utterly loathe the latter, Emily made the lesson so interesting and engaging that I was considering it for my A-levels

Emily had lived with us in our house all long and our family adored her. She is very funny, kind and knows how to make the atmosphere cozy and warm, however, she is at the same time super professional, diligent anf hard-working.

I am hugely lucky to have met someone like her and truly thankful for all the hard work and knowledge that she has invested in me. ”

– Laura Kesaeva, 16 year old Russian student

  • Fully Vetted