Ben D

‘Ben tutored my 12-year-old son in Maths from Sept 2017 until January 2020. He also did a few English comprehension sessions in December 2019 and January 2020. Ben was punctual, reliable and often went the extra mile. He was unfailingly encouraging, patient and professional. Ben did wonders for my son's confidence and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending him.’

Mrs X, 13+ Tuition

  • 11+

  • 13 +

  • English

  • Maths

  • Science

Academic History

2008, LAMDA, BA (Hons) Professional Acting (1st)

2006, University of Cambridge, MA (Cantab) English (2:1)

2003, Eastbourne College, A levels – English Literature (A), German (A), Chemistry (A), Latin (B). AS Mathematics (A)

About Me

I have been tutoring for over 10 years, and specialise in Maths, English and Science tuition, along with supporting for the 11+ and 13+ Entrance Exams.

I firmly believe that in order for tuition to be effective, it needs to be very carefully tailored to meet the specific needs of the student. I spend initial sessions with each student trying to build up an overview of their strengths and weaknesses in the given subject area or syllabus. This allows me to approach subsequent lessons with a clear idea of where real progress can be made. Ultimately, I am always looking to try and increase a student’s awareness of the thought processes and methodologies that will be most helpful for them; it’s not simply about ‘getting the right answer’. It’s about knowing how to get there, so that their understanding of the subject deepens, and ultimately, they become confident tackling new topics and questions – I know I’ve made a success of it when I am no longer required!

As well as being highly trained in the study of English Literature and an experienced maths and Science tutor, I place a great deal of value on patience and affability. The great benefit of one-to-one tuition is that it allows time for this patient and reassuring approach to pay real dividends. It’s important to me that my students trust me, and are just as comfortable sharing their concerns and areas of challenge with me as they are their strengths.

Recent tuition

I have over 250 hours of tuition experience, please find a snapshot of my experience below.

11+ Exam Preparation
I taught May English, Maths, VR & NVR for approximately six months in preparation for her Kent test in the summer of 2018. As a result of our sessions, May grew in confidence and her approach to English comprehension in particular showed a marked improvement. She passed the exam and received a call back from her first-choice selective school.

13+ Exam Preparation
I tutored Bruno for approximately two and a half years in preparation for his entrance examinations for secondary school. During that time, I offered support primarily with maths, but also taught lessons on English comprehension, VR and NVR. Bruno received academic scholarship offers from both Dulwich College and Whitgift school for 13+ entrance in 2020. 

Key Stage 2 and Key Stage 3 Science Home Schooling
For the academic year 2018-19 I taught Science to two boys whose family had recently relocated to London from New York. I taught a total of five hours of lessons per week to each student, one at KS2 level and the other at KS3. In addition, I helped the boys prepare for their entrance interviews. Both boys gained entrance to their first-choice school, and have now been successfully integrated into the UK school system.

GCSE English Language & Literature (AQA)
I taught Josh in preparation for both his English GCSEs from autumn 2014 to the summer of 2015, when he sat the exams. We worked extensively on all of his set texts and I advised him on improvements that he would be able to make to his coursework essays. Josh attained an A grade in both exams, which was one grade up from his teachers’ predictions. 

A Level English Literature (AQA)
Fred’s confidence was at a low ebb as a result of having achieved a disappointing result in his A Level English Literature exam in 2017. Since English was the subject that Fred was hoping to study at University, he took a year out in 2017-18 to re-sit the course. I worked with Fred for 2 hours each week between autumn 2017 and his exams in June 2018, during which time we covered each set text in detail. I set mock essays for Fred, which I then marked and discussed with him. In 2018 Fred achieved an A* grade and was able to take up a place at his first choice University. I still work with Fred during the holidays, providing consultation services for his degree essays.

Hobbies and Interests

Alongside tutoring, I work as a professional actor, and so going to the theatre and watching movies are both enduring passions of mine. I’m also a keen cricket fan, and I enjoy reading and playing chess. In am currently in the process of training for a triathlon to raise money for King’s College Hospital and Great Ormond Street Hospital for children, both of whom were instrumental in caring for my wife and daughter when we experienced serious medical complications following the birth of our child.

Client Testimonials

‘Ben tutored my 12 year old son in Maths from Sept 2017 until January 2020. He also did a few English comprehension sessions in December 2019 and January 2020. Ben was punctual, reliable and often went the extra mile. He was unfailingly encouraging, patient and professional. Ben did wonders for my son’s confidence and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending him.’ Parent of 13+ private tuition student

‘Ben came to tutor our son for his English Literature and English Language GCSE’s. He was extremely good at inspiring and motivating Josh. Always pleasant, punctual and polite. Josh went on to get A in both exams. I would thoroughly recommend Ben; he’s knowledgeable and enthusiastic.’ Parent of GCSE private tuition student

‘Ben completely turned things around for our son who had had his confidence badly knocked by a very disappointing grade in his English Lit A level English. He immediately clicked with Ben who inspired him to rediscover his love of English literature and to work hard and achieve an A* in his retake and a place at his University of choice to read English. Ben is entirely reliable and was always on time for his sessions. He worked hard for the full 2 hours he was here and kept our son interested and engaged for the whole time. I would highly recommend Ben to anyone looking for an extremely capable and inspiring tutor.’ Parent of A Level private tuition student

‘Ben came to tutor our youngest daughter to pass the 11+ for Kent and also to support with getting into our more local selective schools. He was extremely organised and knew our daughter’s needs well, ensuring that what was covered filled the gaps and made her feel confident. Our daughter had a great relationship with him and his calm and focused approach, ensured that she gained in confidence and felt ready to tackle those hard questions. I would recommend Ben highly.’ Parent of 11+ private tuition student

‘Ben tutored my son in English in preparation for 13+ London day school entrance exams. William started the sessions lacking in confidence and Ben worked on the basics then built on those foundations to build up his confidence. William enjoyed the sessions and found Ben very approachable. Ben was reliable and a pleasure to deal with.’ Parent of 13+ private tuition student

‘Ben tutored my oldest son in Maths for about 7-8 months in year 6. My son has mild learning difficulties and finds maths particularly challenging, so Ben’s brief was to help him to consolidate his learning and prepare for tests. My son found Ben to be a sympathetic and effective tutor. Ben explained tricky subjects in a way that worked for him and he got his highest ever score on a maths assessment during his time working with Ben.’ Parent of private tuition student

  • Fully Vetted

Would you like to work with Ben D?

Email us today and we'll be happy to discuss your requirements.

Contact Us