Make an Enquiry

Alexa

"Alexa taught my daughter for three years. She teaches with great kindness and understanding of how it is to be a child in today’s world. Alexa is flexible and sees great potential in everyone. My daughter and I are very grateful for all the help and guidance she has given, resulting in wonderful exam results."

Parent of 11 year old

  • 11+

  • 13 +

  • 7+/8+

  • English

  • Maths

  • Reasoning

  • SEN

Academic History

MA in Philosophy and Education at Teachers College, Columbia University, NY (present)

MPhil Historical Musicology, Cambridge University

BA Music, (2:1), Oxford University

PGCE Secondary, Roehampton University

A levels: English (A), Maths (A), Music (A)

GCSEs: English Language (A*), English Literature (A*), Maths (A*), Chemistry (A*), Biology (A*), Physics (A*), French (A*), German (A*), RE (A*), Art (A*)

About Me

I am a warm, supportive and flexible teacher and tutor with over 10 years’ experience preparing students for admission to top day and boarding schools. I believe wholeheartedly that confidence is the key to learning and that by tapping into this, learning becomes fun. In building a student’s self esteem, children are able to take ownership of their learning and feel in control of their academic trajectory. As such, I take the time to get to know my students and families, building trust and respect, which is the foundation of any good teacher-student relationship. Through continued support and encouragement, tailored always to the needs of each individual, students are able to reach their full potential.

High standards are crucial, but I believe that these high standards can only be achieved through flexible, tailored teaching, focusing on the child’s needs and by providing a dynamic and positive learning experience. The intense pressure of school admissions and constant testing means that building a child’s resilience is more important than ever. In focusing on developing a student’s confidence and self-esteem, he or she feels much more able to take on the challenges – academically, socially, emotionally – they will inevitably face.

Recent tuition

7+ Admission to City of London Juniors and Bancroft’s

I have been tutoring S for five months in preparation for 7+ admissions. She had large gaps in her knowledge and lacked confidence reading and answering exam questions independently. Since I have been teaching her, we have covered all the Maths and English content and, perhaps most importantly, her confidence has blossomed. The anxious little girl I started teaching is excited for our lessons and relishes the challenge of a tricky question! I have helped her become familiar with the format and question types and now she isn’t fazed by exam papers. She has so far passed the first round of City Juniors and Bancroft’s and we are waiting on results of the second round.

8+ Admission to St Paul’s

I tutored S for four months in preparation for the St Paul’s 8+ admissions process. With a focus on Maths and comprehension, we tackled a wide range of question types and practised applying a number of skills and approaches. Through discussion and structured writing, we worked on textual inference, social and emotional understanding of character, and literary devices. In Maths, we worked especially on multi-step problems, number bonds and quick-fire times tables and general number facility. As his skills developed, so did his confidence in his ability, resulting in him passing successfully into St Paul’s.

St Paul’s Girls’ 11+ second round preparation

I tutored N over the winter break for her second-round assessments and interviews at SPGS. The notoriously difficult ‘comprehension’ paper was the main focus of our work, which included problem solving, lateral thinking, textual and scientific analysis as well as creativity. We practised analysing sources, looking at and interpreting graphical and numerical data and learning how to write a strong argument. We also worked on her English and Maths, through analysis of challenging texts and advanced mathematical problems beyond the 11+. I am delighted that she has passed the second round and has been invited to final interview.

11+ English and Verbal Reasoning

I have been tutoring M now for six months in preparation for her 11+ Pre-Test next November. Being bilingual, M has excellent verbal English, but lacks confidence with written technical English. We have been working on developing her writing, helping her to put ideas down on paper succinctly, and practising developing syntax. We are also working on vocabulary development and textual nuance. In the time I have taught her she has made huge progress and can now tackle papers independently. I am confident that in the months we have remaining, we can continue to hone these skills and her academic confidence will grow even more.

11+ and 13+ Music scholarship coaching

For six years I tutored students for successful music scholarship applications to Eton, Harrow, Westminster, St Paul’s, St Paul’s Girls’, South Hampstead, Francis Holland, UCS and Highgate.

Merchant Taylors’ 13+ admission

I tutored E in English, Science, and Humanities leading up to the Merchant Taylors’ exam. We practised analysing and interpreting texts, especially literary devices and inference, as well as problem-solving and deciphering numerical and graphical data. We worked on interpreting evidence, and using this evidence to write a strong argument. It was a pleasure to watch him grow academically. He passed into Merchant Taylors’ and felt very proud of his achievement.

MA student support tutor, Columbia University

I currently work as an academic support tutor for MA students in the humanities. I meet with students one-to-one, often weekly, to work on essay-writing, time management, and academic study skills. It is a rewarding role where I really get to know my students and tailor our session accordingly.

Hobbies and Interests

I am an avid reader, cook and traveller. I believe that the best teachers are keen learners themselves and hope to lead by example! I read widely and enjoy encountering new ideas. I love to travel for similar reasons; I enjoy exploring new environments and immersing myself in different cultures. I also really enjoy food, trying new recipes and restaurants, and sharing these experiences with friends.

Testimonials

“Alexa taught my daughter for three years. She teaches with great kindness and understanding of how it is to be a child in today’s world. Alexa is flexible and sees great potential in everyone. My daughter and I are very grateful for all the help and guidance she has given, resulting in wonderful exam results.”

Parent of 11 year old

“Alexa was a tremendous support to our son in Year 8 as he prepared for his Common Entrance exams. It felt like she always made time for him and she was great at challenging and encouraging him as he needed.”

Parent of 13 year old

“Through the thoughtful and expert guidance of Alexa, my son was able to not only reach his full potential, but to see it in himself. The thought of exams in the past would be a cause of great anxiety. Alexa and her wealth of experience enabled her to tailor my son’s learning to a path that best suited him. He has grown not only as a student, but in his own self confidence. Thank you Alexa!”

Parent of 13 year old

  • Entrance Exam Specialist

  • Fully Vetted

  • Online Tutor

  • Qualified Teacher