rory-maths-tutor-london

Maths Private Tutor: Rory

This tutor’s profile is reflective of the high standard of subject-specific private tutor we introduce. When you contact us, we will recommend a shortlist of tutors who will be carefully matched to your child’s learning style and academic requirements.

My specialist subject is Mathematics and as well as a first class degree in the subject, I have a proven track record as a maths tutor.

Mathematics

About Me

I try to personalise my teaching approach to reflect the individual goals, strengths, weaknesses and learning styles of my students. In Mathematics, there are often many different ways to explain a method or concept, it is the tutor’s role to find the way most suited to the student. In my experience, keeping students well motivated by setting clear goals and tasks is key. After covering material in detail, I like to break each section down to just the essential formulae and methods, I find this avoids students becoming overwhelmed and is great exam preparation.

A good tutor should build the student’s confidence by explaining ideas slowly and clearly, and always offering lots of encouragement.

September 2013-2015: Guildhall School of Music & Drama MMus (Merit)

September 2010-July 2013: King’s College London. BSci Hons Mathematics (1st Class)

September 2007-July 2009: Colchester 6th Form College. A-Level: Maths (A), Music (A), Politics (A), Critical Thinking (A). AS-Levels: Economics (A), General Studies (A).

September 2002-July 2007: GCSEs: Music (A*), French (A*), Physics (A*), Religious Education (A*), ICT (A*), English Language (A*), English Literature (A*), PE (A*), Maths (A), Biology (A).

Recent Tuition

I tutor Maths to GCSE, 11 plus, 16 plus, Pre-U, IB, and A level. I have worked with students following both the independent and state curriculum, with a range of academic attainment levels.

Alex (Pre-U Maths) : An intensive revision course during the half term break (14hrs). Alex was struggling with some of the parts (most notably calculus) of the PreU Mathematics syllabus. After our initial sessions were successful, additional hours of tuition were requested. In these lessons we covered: proof by inductions, integrations by substitution, reduction formulae, hyperbolic trigonometry, inverse trig, exam technique and much more. I continued working with Alex for over two years, and he received an offer from Princeton University, USA to study engineering.

Samantha (A Level): Samantha came to me ahead of her Maths A level retake, needing an A grade to meet her offer from UCL. We worked through all aspects of the C3, C4 and M1 with a clear focus on exam technique. Samantha worked very hard in our sessions and in her homework and we worked formed an excellent working relationship. She achieved an A* in her final exams (scoring 98% in C3 and 89% in C4)

Christopher (GCSE Maths): Weekly GCSE maths sessions with Christopher, with a primary focus on ensuring that he has fully understood the concepts covered in school that week. I worked with Christopher’s parent to help fill some important gaps in his mathematical knowledge, in particular learning his timetables and number bonds thoroughly. Christopher went from an D/E grade to successfully achieving his target grade of a C.

Eliza (GCSE Maths & GCSE statistics): Eliza is a very bright student who, though very capable, lacked confidence in Maths, her weakest subject. Her parents sought a tutor who would support and encourage her but also challenge and push her. We have worked together in weekly sessions over the last two academic years. Eliza’s progress has been excellent and following our sessions her end of year school report singled out Maths as an area of strength. Eliza achieved A* grades in both GCSE Statistics and GCSE Maths.

Laura (11+): I am currently working two hours a week with Laura preparing her for upcoming 11+ exams. Laura is a bright and capable girl who, though having good knowledge of the majority of the Maths syllabus, has a few important gaps in her knowledge. I’ve identified these and have been writing her personalised problem sets to better prepare her for the exams. Laura’s previous Maths tutor knocked her confidence and so our sessions have focussed on building confidence; she is a very capable student but not always sure of her own abilities.

Annabel (16+) : An intense course (approx. 20 hours) preparing Annabel for entrance exams to some of the more competitive London Schools. Annabel was educated outside of the UK so many areas needed covering with reference to the UK syllabus. Annabel worked very hard and had a good aptitude for Maths. Over the two weeks we worked together her practice test results improved from scoring around 50% to 70%+. Annabel was accepted at St. Paul’s and Godophin and Latymer.

Charlie (IB maths higher level): Revision course, taking place over a week, for a student studying maths higher level at a British International School. Charlie had a good basic understanding in most topics, however some weakness in his algebra and calculus (in particular) was holding him back from scoring the higher marks. Charlie was bright and very hardworking, he scored a level 6 in his Maths and went on to studying Chemistry at university.

Paula (IB maths standard level): Paula had been off school due to illness and had an exam the following day. She had done an impressive job of learning most of the content of the test herself but was confused on a few areas. In particular, finding equations and intersections of straight lines. We covered these in detail with lots of reference to practice exam questions.

Jessica (AS-Level and A-level maths): Jessica was behind and a lacking in confidence in maths having missed school due to illness. Over the two years Jessica and I worked together, she went from wanting to drop Maths because she found it too difficult, to scoring over 80% in all her past papers (and declaring Maths as her strongest and favourite subject!). Jessica worked incredibly hard and it was great to see her confidence improve. She achieved an A grade in A Level maths and is going on to study occupational therapy at university.

Fin (GCSE): I worked with Fin over his school holidays to help him improve his predicted grade in his Maths GCSE. After accessing his strengths and weaknesses, I tailored a program of work to give him a boost in a number of areas.

Walworth Academy: Tutoring a small group of GCSE students at Walworth Academy on a weekly basis to help prepare them for their Maths exams. The students all have target grade C.

Brit School (GCSE Maths, foundation level): In the run up to last years exams I taught a number of exam focused revision sessions at the Brit School in Croydon. The students were taking the foundation paper and had a target grade C. I kept the sessions positive and exam focussed to build the student’s confidence ahead of their exam. The students were great to work with and always engaged with the lesson. I received very positive feedback from the school and was asked to continue tutoring long-term in the next academic year.

Hobbies and Interests

I play saxophone and have a Masters degree from the Guildhall School of Music & Drama. At university, I was the director of the college big band and I have taught saxophone privately. In addition to tutoring I work as a freelance saxophonist.

Outside of listening to and playing music, I enjoy reading.

Back to Maths Tutors

Contact Us

Please contact one of our tuition consultants to find a Maths tutor matched to your child’s learning style and academic requirements.

+44 (0)20 7350 1981WhatsApp Message Us