I am a relatable and experienced maths teacher with a solid approach.

maths-tutor-daniel
Private Tutor for Maths

About Me

I teach very methodically in a “brick by brick” manner. I always teach in a way that builds on the last lesson and make sure to do on the spot revision tests to make sure previously learnt material isn’t lost. I am known for my in depth, color coded cheat sheets that summarise topics in a clear and easy way that – when needed – I give to students as a nice reference for practicing exam questions. I not only tailor each lesson and overall structure to optimise performance, but also provide various techniques to convert daunting learning areas into fun and rewarding challenges.

I inspire students to want to impress me, which often gives them a newfound sense of self motivation that continues permanently.

My goal with tutoring is to catalyse independence, not dependence as most tutors do, in each student by showing students their own potential through helping them reach their academic goals. I always endeavour to be the best tutor I can be and provide the best results for my students.

University of Western Australia ( Feb 2011 – Jun 2012. Feb 2013 – Jun 2013. Jul 2014 – Nov, 2014.) Distinction average (equivalent of 2.1) BSc in Engineering Science.

New York University on Academic Scholarship. ( Jul 2013 – Nov 2013)

University of Sydney on Academic Scholarship. (Jul 2012 – Nov 2012.)

Sacred Heart College High School. (Jan 2005 – Nov 2010) Received an ATAR of 91.40 (better than 91.40% of all students in Australia in their exams for that year).

Recent Tuition

I have been a specialist Maths tutor for 4 years now and have over 375 hours of 1-1 tutoring experience helping students achieve A/A* grades and acceptance into the most prestigious schools. Below are some recent clients:

7+ Preparation

– I worked with a student for 6 months in the run up to his assessments for Haberdasher’s Boys School. He struggled particularly with the word-based maths problems, which we would practise regularly to resolve. He was successful in gaining a place at the school.

– Regular lessons for 10 months with this student to help them grasp the more complex maths questions and graphs. They were successful in gaining entry into Highgate.

8+ Preparation

Sam (7) – 1.5 hours a week in Maths in preparation for the 8+ who has seen a 30% increase in his pursuit of Kings College Wimbledon.

Age 9 Maths

1 hour a week in Maths in pursuit of the top Maths set which she has now achieved along with certificates for her achievements and even asked to represent her year group at the Lambeth Math Olympiad Tournament.

Age 9 Maths

Max (9) – Four hours a week of tuition in Maths to a boy who really wants to push himself in Maths, he is already working at least 1 academic year ahead and wants more! He is aiming towards top schools such as Eton and St Pauls.

Age 9 Maths

Rose (9) – Weekly tuition for 8 months converted her fears in Mathematics to something she looks forward to which brought her Maths grades from C to A-.

11+ Maths

Luca, 10 – Weekly tuition in Maths for a gifted boy who has his heart set on prestigious schools such as Eton, Westminster, UCS, City of London and Highgate.

11+ Maths

Thaisa, 10 – Weekly tuition in Maths to a girl who used to never like Maths but has now found comfort in it through her newfound ability, she has become so confident that she is now aiming towards St Paul’s Girls!

Age 11 Maths and School Entry

Elizabeth, 11 – Twice weekly tuition for 9 months provided newfound confidence in Science and Maths to the point of a career change, as well as additional support to learning English and acceptance into the coveted Perth Modern School in Australia.

Age 12 Maths and School Entry

Franz, 12 – Twice weekly tuition for 15 months helped extend his mathematic abilities from the standard Maths class to the extension class, as well as assisting his acceptance to the prestigious Sydney Grammar School in Australia.

13+ Common Entrance – Maths

Salman, 12 – Weekly tuition in maths in preparation for 13+ in Trinity, Whitgift and Royal Russel. Practice test results have increased from 60 to 80% and he is expected to receive a place soon.

GCSE Maths (SEN)

Alexis, 15 – Twice weekly tuition in Maths to a boy who was diagnosed with a learning difficulty in regards to short term memory loss. He used to get C’s and sometimes D’s, but now after applying some of my methods has improved to a B grade and we are now aiming for A/A*!

GCSE Maths

Oliver, 15 – Twice weekly tuition for 13 months reestablished his mathematic fundamentals, moving him to extension Maths after being awarded the Maths award for “most improved”.

GCSE Maths

Tallulah, 16 – Twice weekly tuition in preparation for Higher iGCSE Maths paper. Her results have improved from a B- to an A and she is expected to achieve an A/A* based on past papers.

A-Level Maths

Chris, 16 – Weekly tuition in Maths to a boy who was uninspired in Maths sitting low on a B grade. Now Chris is on an A grade and has even broadened his horizons to more prestigious universities such as Oxford and Cambridge!

A-Level Maths

William, 16 – Weekly tuition for 16 months settled an obstreperous child into a focused ambitious academic with his hearts set on NASA, progressing him from the lowest Maths class to the highest Maths class.

A-Level Maths

Nafisah, 18 – Weekly tuition for 9 months assisted her into being admitted into University College London by alleviating doubts of subpar Mathematic abilities.

Hobbies and Interests

When I’m not tutoring I’m learning! I’m a big reader and love learning new skills. I’m also a musician (pianist, guitarist, singer), sportsman (surfer, footballer, gymnast) and love to draw and even cook! When I’m not doing the above I help run my father’s family international property business.

Testimonials

Tallulah | iGCSE:

Daniel Deakin has been tutoring my 16 year old daughter for several weeks to help her to prepare for her Higher Level iGCSE in Mathematics. He has a sound knowledge of the syllabus, and has quickly focused on areas of weakness, giving additional input where it is needed. My daughter has always enjoyed her lessons with Daniel, and has said on a number of occasions that one of the things she most appreciates, is that he is able to explain difficult concepts in a clear and simple way. Daniel has proved to be a conscientious and skilled tutor and I would have no hesitation in recommending him to other parents. My daughter is now feeling much more confident about the forthcoming exam. From her practice papers, she is now hoping to achieve an A/A*. Daniel has been very reliable in timekeeping, and has gone out of his way to be accommodating when we have had to make a slight change in lesson times. He is easy to talk to, with a friendly and approachable manner.

Sam | 8+:

Daniel has been tutoring our 7 year old son once a week for 4 months now, and given the results we plan to continue past his upcoming 8+ exams. Sam had been doing fine in maths but seemed to lack confidence in his own abilities. So, we engaged Daniel to improve Sam’s confidence in his approach to maths, and it has worked. Whereas previously he complained that he did not like maths and wasn’t good at it, he now is more confident and much happier to tackle difficult maths problems in his classwork and at home. Within weeks of starting his sessions with Daniel, we began to see his attitude to problem solving in maths improving, and his exam results in school have improved with his confidence -by as much as 30 points (From 60% to 90%!). Daniel has also been a help specifically in regards to exam preparation for 8+, in that he identified that Sam had room to improve his speed during exams. After working on this with Daniel for several weeks we saw this effort contribute to his improved results on mock exams. Our son has also said that he likes working with Daniel and that the sessions with Daniel have been helpful for him in feeling more confident with his maths. As a tutor, Daniel is very professional, organized and punctual about his scheduling. He is engaging and upbeat, and has a good manner with children. He strikes enough of a balance with making it fun that our son is willing to do the extra work with him without complaint. I would highly recommend Daniel as a maths tutor.

Rian | Primary:

Daniel has been tutoring our 9 year old daughter once a week, for the past few months. Our daughter was doing ok in maths, but we had concerns about her confidence and whether she was getting what she needed at school. Daniel has given us confidence that she is working to her correct level and we can see that she no longer dreads maths. Daniel is punctual and with his down to earth approach to tutoring we are satisfied that our daughter can ask questions and discuss things with him if she is unsure of anything. Since my daughter has been tutored by Daniel, she has come home from school with a few certificates from her class teacher in recognition of her attitude and results in maths, she has also been asked to represent her year group at the Lambeth Math Olympiad Tournament, which she is excited about. I believe that with Daniel tutoring her, her confidence has been raised and her subject knowledge has been solidified.

Alexis | GCSE | Learning Difficulties:

Daniel has been tutoring my 15 year old son Alexis in maths since early February 2016. He has helped Alexis to not only improve his test results and overall performance in what was one of his least favourite subjects, but more importantly Daniel has given Alexis confidence. Alexis has always had learning difficulties, slow mental processing and very poor short term memory, and he was always in the lowest set for maths. Daniel has helped Alexis overcome any anxieties about his abilities and encouraged him to aim high, to move up a set or two next year which seems almost certain. Daniel is responsible and hard working, he is always punctual and careful about his scheduling. I would recommend Daniel and hope that he will continue to tutor Alexis next year as he prepares for his GCSE’s and to attain the A/A* he is aiming for in Maths.

Salman | 13+:

We can confirm the above mentioned has been tutoring my 12 year old son on a weekly basis in preparation for his 13 Plus entrance exams in January. I have seen a remarkable improvement in his confidence, speed, and accuracy in the subject. Even his subject teacher at school has noticed the improvement. Together with the school, myself and Daniel, we hope he will be more than prepared for his exams. Hence I hope to increase time with Daniel to twice a week in the holidays. Daniel is a polite, pleasant, well-mannered and respectful tutor who is always extremely punctual. I feel fortunate to have him, and I highly recommend him to anyone who needs a helping hand with Maths.

Luca | 11+:

I am happy to confirm that Daniel Deakin has been giving private hourly maths tuitions to our 10-year old son on a fortnightly basis in preparation for the secondary schools ISEB pre-tests and 11+ exams this coming Autumn. Daniel has encouraged our son to think more broadly and independently about maths so he is able to apply his knowledge in a less literal way. Daniel was making the lesson both interesting and fun. It was important to us that our son had fun learning, especially since this is in addition to a busy schedule at and outside school. Daniel has given a lively lesson each time and our son has been more confident in his maths abilities as a result.